Awards for legal aid barristers


Michael Mansfield QC is taking over from Cherie Booth QC as chair of the judging panel for ‘the LALYs’ (the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards).  Booth, who is stepping down due to a surfeit of commitments, has chaired the panel for the full nine years since the awards launched. Panel members include justice campaigner Doreen Lawrence OBE and Lord Justice (Andrew) McFarlane.

This year’s LALYs, due to take place in central London in June, will include awards for legal aid barrister and young legal aid barrister. A special award will be made for Outstanding Achievement.  Carol Storer, director of the Legal Aid Practitioners Group and awards organiser, said: “At a time when the legal aid scheme, particularly family, immigration and social and welfare law, is under threat as never before, these awards are more important than ever.”

Nominations are due in by 27 April, and the shortlist will then be announced in May.