The winning team, composed of Amy Proferes and Tom Leary, competed against Emily Mcquilkin and Jon Gaydon from Inner Temple. The teams waged legal argument over the strange case of an ‘Entwhistle Blanderscope’.

Lord Neuberger, the Master of the Rolls, acting as judge, consoled the losing team by telling them he personally had never won any mooting competition.

The competition, which may become an annual event, is sponsored by LexisNexis Atkin’s Court Forms.
All four Inns of Court were invited to enter a team.

The semi-finals were held in May at Halsbury House, on London’s Chancery Lane, and presided over by Master Leslie of the Queen’s Bench Division, and Senior District Judge of the Family Division, Philip Waller.