The Lisbon Treaty, signed by the Heads of State and Government in December 2007, entered into force on 1 December 2009. The term “Lisbon Treaty” is shorthand for two new treaties:

  • The Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union” (“TFEU”) which amends and replaces the old Treaty establishing the
    European Community (“TEC”); and
  • The Treaty on European Union (“TEU”), containing only the provisions on Common Foreign and Security Policy, which remains intergovernmental.

    To view a consolidated version of the Lisbon Treaty, go to:

    A quick selection of the many useful guides available on the changes imposed by the entry into force of the new Treaty:

    Ensuring that the Treaty “beds down” well and quickly is the stated priority of the Spanish Presidency of the EU, which took over from Sweden on 1 January. That, and steering the EU towards economic recovery.