The Master of the Rolls, Lord Dyson, announced the “Jackson Five” in May, which will be himself, Lord Justice Stephen Richards (Deputy Head of Civil Justice) and Lord Justices Jackson, Davis and Lewison. At least one of the group will be on the Bench for all appeals arising from the reforms.

The announcement implements Recommendation 87 of the Final Report of the Review of Civil Litigation Costs, which had recommended that two Lord Justices be appointed.

Five have been appointed to allow for “flexibility of listing”.