The court estate currently amounts to 530 courts.

Justice Minister Jonathan Djanogly said the closures would save an estimated £41.5m, while a further £38.5m could be realised from the sale of assets. He said £22m of capital would be used to improve the courts to which work will transfer.

“Access to justice is not just about access to buildings. It’s about the type of justice delivered, decent facilities for victims and witnesses and efficient use of the system.”

Five county courts have been saved from the original proposals in June, including the Mayor’s and City of London, which was the subject of a vigorous campaign by lawyers who use the court.

The other surviving county courts are Bury, Barnsley, Skipton and Llangefni.

Ten magistrates’ courts have been saved, including Abergavenny, Newbury, Harlow, Newton Abbot, Waltham Forest, Worksop and Skipton.